Students, faculty, and staff recognized at Student Leadership Breakfast

FREEPORT -- Highland Community College Student Senate held their annual Student Leadership Breakfast on Friday, April 28, in the Student/Conference Center to recognize individuals for their leadership in a variety of roles on campus and in student clubs and organizations.

Highland President Tim Hood recognized Isaac Asche (Freeport) and Hannah Fehr (Rock City) as recipients of the Citizenship Award. The Student Senate presented Interim Associate Dean of Nursing and Allied Health Jennifer Grobe with the Bert Tavenner Award for her leadership of the new Cheer Squad.  Vice President of Administrative Services Jill Janssen, was the recipient of the Student Senate Appreciation Award for her work consulting with senators on a number of key projects.

President Tim Hood and Citizenship Award recipient Isaac Asche. Hannah Fehr not pictured.

Mara Kuberski (left) and Jennifer Grobe.

Staci Hammer (left) and Jill Janssen.

Liz Gerber, vice president of student development and support services, and advisor for Student Senate, recognized student senators Mara Kuberski (Freeport), president; Kadie Cross (Lena), vice president; Rachel Carlson (Freeport), secretary; Kirstin Dach (Freeport), treasurer; Staci Hammer (Pearl City), student trustee; and Isaac Asche (Freeport), James Burnridge (Lena), Kamryn Czysz (Freeport), Abigayle Endress (Pearl City), Whitney Felker (Byron), Adam Jacobs (Freeport), Benjamin Page (Monroe, WI), Christian Pacheco (Forreston), Stacy Sammul (Freeport), Farrah Stubbe (Lanark), Dakata Toney (Freeport), and Jessica Willis (Freeport) as student senators.

Front: left to right - Isaac Asche, Abygaile Endress, Jessica Willis, Kadie Cross (vice president), Staci Hammer (student trustee 2016-17), and Adam Jacobs. Back: Advisor Kay Ostberg, James Burnidge, Stacy Sammul (2017-18), Darren Hess (2017-18), Whitney Felker, Dakata Toney, Kirstin Dach (treasurer), Kamryn Czysz, Mara Kuberski (president), Rachel Carlson (secretary), advisor Liz Gerber.

The winner of the inaugural Jane Addams Essay Contest is Jaquelin Jazo (Freeport). Zachary McDanel (Freeport) and Glen Petran (Freeport) were runners-up. The contest encouraged students to write about Jane Addams’ contribution to the pragmatist movement and the meaning of 'civic housekeeping.'

Left to Right: Kay Ostberg (Jane Addams Essay Contest chair), Jaquelin Jazo, Zachary McDanel, Glen Petran, and Dr. Andy Dvorak (history/political science instructor).

A number of HCC student clubs and organizations presented awards and recognized leaders for their exemplary accomplishments.

The Highland Chronicle Excellence Award was presented to Jaquelin Jazo (Freeport).

The Criminal Justice Club recognized Isaac Asche (Freeport), president; Elaine Schmidt (Monroe, WI), vice president; Benjamin Page (Monroe, WI), secretary; Dakata Toney (Detroit, MI), treasurer; and club member Jameel Buss (Davis).

The Environmental Awareness through Highland (EARTH) Club recognized Rachel Carlson (Freeport), Kadie Cross (Lena), Kamryn Czysz (Freeport), Jaquelin Jazo (Freeport), Mara Kuberski (Freeport), and Stacy Sammul (Freeport).

Student Leadership Seminar Participants were Amber Akers (Freeport), Kadie Cross (Lena), Kim Goeke (Rock City), Mara Kuberski (Freeport), Benjamin Page (Monroe, WI), Stacy Sammul (Freeport), and Stephanie Siemens (Davis).

The following Cougar Cheer Squad members were recognized: Ashley Bausman (Freeport), Robert Brugger (Monroe, WI), McKenzie Chapman (Lena), Kadie Cross (Lena), Alivia Eshleman (Freeport), Katelyn Hudler (Freeport), Poet Jackson (Freeport), Alyssa Johnson (Hanover), Mara Kuberski (Freeport), Anicka Stultz (Pearl City), and Mercedes Williams (Freeport).   

Left to right: Kate Perkins (Chronicle advisor), Jaquelin Jazo, and Abigayle Endress.

Left to right: Isaac Asche (Criminal Justice Club president) and Jameel Buss.

EARTH Club Members: Left to right - Stacy Sammul, Jaquelin Jazo, Kadie Cross, Mara Kuberski, Kamryn Czysz, and Rachel Carlson.

Student Leadership Seminar Participants: Left to Right - Liz Gerber (vice president of student development and support services), Amber Akers, Kadie Cross, Mara Kuberski, Sammul, and Stephanie Siemens.

Cheer Squad: Front, left to right - Anicka Stultz, Alyssa Johnson, McKenkie Chapman, Kadie Cross, Ashley Bausman, and Mercedes Williams. Back: Jennifer Grobe (advisor), Robert Brugger, Katelyn Hudler, Alivia Eshleman, Mara Kuberski, and Poet Jackson.

2998 W. Pearl City Road
Freeport, IL 61032-9341

Fax 815-235-6130

© 2018 Highland Community College   Home  |  Contact  |  Search  |  Classes
Facebook Twitter